MySQL Community Awards 2018: Call for Nominations!

MySQL Community Awards 2018: Call for Nominations!

MySQL Community Awards take place, every year as usual, in Santa Clara, during the Percona Live Open Source Database Conference

The MySQL Community Awards is a community-based initiative. The idea is to publicly recognize contributors to the MySQL ecosystem. The entire process of discussing, voting and awarding is controlled by an independent group of community members, typically based of past winners or their representatives, as well as known contributors.

It is a self-appointed, self-declared, self-making-up-the-rules-as-it-goes committee. It is also very aware of the importance of the community; a no-nonsense, non-political, adhering to tradition, self-criticizing committee.

The Call for Nominations is open. We are seeking the community’s assistance in nominating candidates in the following categories:

MySQL Community Awards: Community Contributor of the year 2018

This is a personal award; a winner would a person who has made contribution to the MySQL ecosystem. This could be via development, advocating, blogging, speaking, supporting, etc. All things go.

MySQL Community Awards: Application of the year 2018

An application, project, product etc. which supports the MySQL ecosystem by either contributing code, complementing its behavior, supporting its use, etc. This could range from a one man open source project to a large scale social service.

MySQL Community Awards: Corporate Contributor of the year 2018

A company who made contribution to the MySQL ecosystem. This might be a corporate which released major open source code; one that advocates for MySQL; one that help out community members by… anything.

For a list of previous winners, please see MySQL Hall of Fame.

Process of nomination and voting

Anyone can nominate anyone. When nominating, please make sure to provide a brief explanation on why the candidate is eligible to get the award. Make a good case!

The committee will review all nominations and vote; it typically takes two rounds of votes to pick the winners, and a lot of discussion.

There will be up to three winners in each category.

Methods of nomination:

  • Fill out this form
  • Send en email to [ at ]
  • Assuming you can provide a reasonable description in 140 characters, tweet your nomination at #MySQLAwards.

Please submit your nominations no later than Friday, March 15 2018.

The committee

Members of the committee are:

  • Alexey Kopytov
  • Baron Schwartz
  • Bill Karwin
  • Colin Charles
  • Daniël van Eeden
  • Eric Herman
  • Frédéric Descamps
  • Justin Swanhart
  • Mark Leith
  • Santiago Lertora
  • Shlomi Noach
  • Simon Mudd

Emily Slocombe and Agustín Gallego are acting as co-secretaries; we will be non-voting (except for breaking ties).

The committee communicates throughout the nomination and voting process to exchange views and opinions.

The awards

Awards are traditionally donated by some party whose identity remains secret. We are still looking for a sponsor, email [ at ] if you would like to sponsor the award goblets


This is a community effort; we ask for your support in spreading the word and of course in nominating candidates. Thanks!